support reviews
  • hot!
  • top rated
32-bit / 64-bit

How Pros Make Hits - eBook

eBook by Mastering The Mix

Buy and getFREE

How Pros Make Hits

Discover the building blocks of successful songs to improve your mixing decisions.

What gives world-class producers their competitive advantage? It’s not magic or secret sauce. Every ‘trick' has a simple explanation. This eBook dissects and explains the production approaches that give hits their chart-topping sound. After reading this eBook you’ll have an extensive bank of ideas and techniques inspired by pros that will undoubtedly help you improve your productions.

Key Benefits

  • 40 super-successful songs deconstructed in 200 pages.
  • 6 Genres: Pop, Hip-Hop, Electronic, Club, Rock, and Classic.
  • Use the production techniques to give yourself immediate and tangible results in the studio.
  • Understand the fundamental reasons a song gained success.
  • Train your ears and become a better critical listener.
  • Save thousands $£€ compared to a good music production course.
  • Free updates for life


Songs Decoded In This Chapter:

  • Uptown Funk - Mark Ronson ft. B. Mars
  • Where Are Ü Now - Jack Ü ft. J. Bieber
  • Magic - Coldplay
  • Rehab - Amy Winehouse
  • Get Lucky - Daft Punk
  • Shape Of You - Ed Sheeran
  • Light It Up - Major Lazer 
  • My My My - Troye Sivan
  • Closer - The Chainsmokers ft. Halsey

Songs Decoded In This Chapter:

  • All The Stars - Kendrick Lamar, SZA
  • Sicko Mode - Travis Scott
  • Still Dre - Dr Dre
  • KOD - J Cole
  • In Da Club - 50 Cent
  • God’s Plan - Drake
  • This Is America - Childish Gambino

Songs Decoded In This Chapter:

  • One Kiss - Calvin Harris ft. Dua Lipa
  • Sad Machine - Porter Robinson
  • Midnight City - M83
  • Andromeda - Gorrilaz
  • Never Be Like You - Flume
  • Electricity - Silk City
  • The Middle - Zedd

Songs Decoded In This Chapter:

  • Strobe - Deadmau5
  • Panic Room - Camelphat (feat Au/Ra)
  • Gecko (Overdrive) - Oliver Heldens ft. Becky Hill
  • F For You - Disclosure ft. Mary J Blige

Songs Decoded In This Chapter:

  • Killing In The Name - Rage Against The Machine
  • The Pretender - Foo Fighters
  • Sex On Fire - Kings Of Leon 
  • Uprising - MUSE
  • Believer - Imagine Dragons

Songs Decoded In This Chapter:

  • Thriller - Michael Jackson
  • Back In Black - AC/DC
  • The Chain - Fleetwood Mac 
  • Come Together - The Beatles
  • Stayin' Alive - Bee Gees
  • Shining Star - Earth Wind and Fire
  • Sweet Dreams - Eurythmics 
  • Bohemian Rhapsody - Queen

What You'll Learn

Stereo / Frequency Deconstruction

You'll learn how the mix engineers positioned the main elements in each song to create a balanced mix whilst minimising conflicting frequencies.

Components Of The Song

You'll learn how the artists and producers used instrumentation and arrangement to create an exciting song that feels like a cohesive journey.

Structure Explanations

You'll learn how structure can be used to engage your listener and maintain their interest from start to finish.

Tools and Techniques

You'll learn techniques that can be applied in your own songs that will help you get better sounding mixes.

Unique Production Approaches

You'll learn about specific approaches the artists and engineers used to create their sound. After reading this eBook you’ll have an extensive bank of ideas and techniques inspired by pros that will undoubtedly help you improve your productions.

Technical Analysis

You'll learn about the technical details of each track and how that affected the audience's experience. You can then use this information in your own productions to make sure you deliver the best listening experience every time.

About The Author

Tom Frampton is an audio engineer with one driving goal; to help music producers get the best possible results.

The past few years have been a whirlwind for Tom. Mixing and mastering songs for thousands of clients, his plugins being used by tens of thousands and his blog read by hundreds of thousands. Every day presenting a new challenge, and a new opportunity to learn.

Hearing the music-related struggles expressed by his clients and readers has positioned Tom perfectly to uncover unique techniques and workflows to help them create better-sounding mixes.

Tom wrote this eBook to compile and share all of his most valuable information into a single resource. Having been involved at every stage of the production process in various scenarios, he found there are some approaches that work brilliantly, and some that guarantee sub-par results.

Toms approach to music production, as defined in this book, has opened the door for him to release remixes on influential labels (BMG) and work with world-renowned artists (Tiesto, David Guetta, Calvin Harris, Niall Horan).

Please Note: Within 24 hours of purchase, you will receive an email containing the download link for your product.

Any references to any brands on this site/page, including reference to brands and instruments, are provided for description purposes only. For example references to instrument brands are provided to describe the sound of the instrument and/or the instrument used in the sample. Plugin Boutique do not have (nor do they claim) any association with or endorsement by these brands. Any goodwill attached to those brands rest with the brand owner. Plugin Boutique or its Suppliers do not accept any liability in relation to the content of the product or the accuracy of the description. "RHODES" is a registered trademark of Joseph A Brandstetter.